Daily Prompt–Helping Hand


Tell us about the most surprising helping hand you’ve ever received.

Photographers, show us HANDS.

I haven’t received any “surprising” helping hand. But I have received very many helping hands from my daughter whenever I have needed them and however often I have needed them. And she always pulls through and delivers. Maybe that’s the surprising thing. That she is ALWAYS there when I need her. My precious daughter.

moving-dayI have moved twice since I moved to San Antonio. I lived for a brief time with my daughter at her house before i moved into an apartment in the north side of the city. She helped me move in there. She came over there and brought loads of stuff from her house to my new apartment and helped me move in. Then when I moved back over to the northwest side of town, she helped me pack up my apartment and get it ready to move. She also helped me unpack my stuff in my new town home. These are big jobs and I really valued her help. They are not fun jobs. But she willingly helped me. I love her for doing these things.

Another thing she has done for me on several occasions is to take me and stay with me when I have had a colonscopy.  I have had two of these since I have been back in San Antonio and I needed someone to take me to the procedure and wait with me while the procedure is done and bring me home because I’m groggy afterwards. I’ve also had oral surgery where I’ve been put under anaesthesia and I needed someone to bring me to the dentist and bring me home and she has willingly been my chauffeur to these procedures. I have no one else to take me to these procedures but she is always willing to do it. I know it takes time away from her job. I am extremely grateful to her for doing this for me.

My daughter is an amazing “helping hand” to me. It is surprising that she is always willing and able to help me. I am an extremely lucky woman to have such a remarkable helpful daughter who is always ready to help her mother with whatever needs to be done in her life. Thank you, Sabrina. I love you.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Helping Hand and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Helping Hand

  1. A lovely tribute to a lovely daughter.

  2. granny1947 says:

    Hear, hear Tilly.

Leave a Reply

