Daily Prompt–Bittersweet Memories


You receive a gift that is bittersweet and makes you nostalgic. What is it?

Photographers, show us GIFT.

I receive a Niagara University pin from 1971. It brings back many bittersweet memories for me. This is the pin that my boyfriend J gave to me when we were juniors at the university. We were steady boyfriend and girlfriend. We had been going out since the beginning of our sophomore year at school and were committed to each other. The pin meant that we were even more committed.

college pinAfter the pin, we eventually became engaged during our senior year. J was my first real, serious boyfriend and I loved him with all my heart. J was from a city about 90 miles from my hometown. I visited him during the holidays and met his family. But our days at university were wrapped up in each other. I even went to some of his classes for him. He didn’t like going to his history classes so I went and took notes for him. I was in love so I did everything for him. We planned our wedding during senior year.

We were married the week after we graduated from university. The wedding was in my hometown. Then we went on our honeymoon to the Poconos. We drove down there and then drove back to his hometown. We lived with his parents and I found a job working for an insurance company and he worked at the city playgrounds until the fall when he taught school. In the fall, I found a job as a caseworker. But we still lived with his parents. Eventually we bought a little house down the street from them and were very happy for a while. We had a daughter and were happy. For a while.

For a while.

It all began with that little pin from Niagara University long ago. A symbol of commitment. We were committed. For a while.

For a while.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Bittersweet Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Bittersweet Memories

  1. granny1947 says:

    Beautifully written Maire.

  2. I know you can’t regret it because it brought you your daughter 🙂

  3. The Hook says:

    Beautiful post, my friend. I love these looks into your past.

Leave a Reply

