Daily Prompt–Goals


When you started your blog, did you set any goals? Have you achieved them? Have they changed at all?

When I started my blog, I was going to write about my everyday life. Why I thought this would be fascinating to anyone, I haven’t a clue. I did think it would be therapeutic for me to write about what was bugging me. I was going through a depression with accompanying anxiety. Perhaps i thought that writing would help me cope with my mental illnesses better. And for a while I did write about my life. I wrote about my childhood. I wrote about my everyday life. I wrote about my problems. I actually hurt people I loved by writing about them, which was not my intent, but I did it.

Then over time, I began to change the format of my blog. I still wanted to write but coming up with topics to address was not my forte. I began to write to the Daily Prompts that Word Press releases each day. That satisfies my urge to write and allows me to address myself to some aspect of my life. This prompt allows me to do that. It allows me to tell you about why I started my blog and what I’m doing with it now. So now I address the Word Press Daily Prompts most days. There are days when the Daily Prompt is just off my radar; it just doesn’t meet my needs or I just can’t think of any way to write to it, such as when it asks for a song list or movie quotes or to rewrite a post. I just can’t do those kind of posts, or I don’t want to. Otherwise, I usually address the prompt. It might not be a long post, but I write to it. So in a way, I am meeting my goal of writing about my life by addressing the Daily Prompts as they are about my life.

The other type of post I write in my blog are my book reviews for my Book Challenge Update. I have set for myself a book challenge this year of reading 150 books. So far, I have read almost 75 books so I am well on my way to meeting my goal. Each time I finish a book, I write a review of that book on my blog. I give a summary of the book and also give my impressions of the book. If I didn’t particularly like the book, I’ll tell you. If it confused me, I’ll let you know. If I loved it, you’ll find out. I’m very honest in my book reviews. I enjoy doing them. They usually run anywhere from 500 to 1,000 or more words, depending on how much I loved a book. I try not to give away the plot of mystery books, and I read a lot of mystery books. They are my favorite genre. But I read all types of books. And I review them all.

I also review films as I see them. I had hopes of seeing 25 films this year, but so far I have only seen five. I don’t think I will reach my goal. I’m not really that into films as I am into books. I usually see films in theaters. I have seen one film on television. I should watch more on television but I just don’t think about it. I’d rather read, I guess.

So there’s my blog, in a nutshell. “My Life, Such As It Is” is my response to the Daily Prompts and my book reviews to the Book Challenge Updates. You get to see what my life is like. Lately people have been seeing quite a bit of my dogs. And learning about my sad former love life. And you get to learn about what I’ve been reading. That’s my life. Such as it is.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Goals

  1. The Hook says:

    In a nutshell, your blog rocks!

Leave a Reply

