Daily Prompt–Green-Eyed Monster


Tell us about the last time you were really, truly jealous of someone. Did you act on it? Did it hurt your relationship? 

Photographers, show us something GREEN.

I’m normally not a very jealous person, so I really can’t remember a time when I was really, truly very jealous of someone. I was a little jealous one time–well, several times. Those times I can tell you about.

One time that I was a little jealous of someone was when my daughter married her boyfriend. She is now happily married for several years and I am still somewhat jealous of her. I am happy for her that she has found someone with whom she is happy to spend her life, a partner that completes her. I would like to find man with whom to spend my life. I would like to get married again, I think. I’m finally beginning to heal after my last divorce which was particularly traumatic. But i think I’d like to find someone to love. I’m glad my daughter has. So I feel a little bit jealous of her. Not a lot. A little.

I’m also a little jealous of my sister. I envy the relationship she has with her daughters. She is very close to both her daughters. Closer to them than I am to my daughter. I wish I were closer to my daughter but she seems to be happy with the way our relationship is. I wish it were more like the relationship my sister has with her daughters. They are more involved with their mother’s life. I guess I wish my daughter were a bit more concerned about me. I wish she called me sometime. She thinks I talk too much so we just text. I wished she stopped in to visit or invited me over to her house occasionally. I wish we did more things together. I am envious of my sister because she does more things with her daughters. So, yes, I’m a wee bit jealous of my sister’s relationship with her daughters.

As I said, I don’t have a full-blown jealously attack about anything. But I do have little pangs of jealousy about these two things. I think everyone has something they are jealous about. These happen to be mine.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Green-Eyed Monster and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Green-Eyed Monster

  1. renxkyoko says:

    It’s not uncommon to feel a bit of jealousy. It can prompt you to improve yourself. Cheers.

  2. The Hook says:

    You’re human – and forgiven.

Leave a Reply

