Daily Prompt–The Next Big Thing


What will the next must-have technological innovation be? Jetpacks? Hoverboards? Wind-powered calculators?

Photographers, show us INNOVATIVE. 

Automobiles have made much progress in recent years. Hybrid vehicles are quite common on our roadways today as are buses and vans that are powered by natural gas. Fully electric cars are also making their way onto the market. There is still the obstacle of where to charge these cars but I’m sure that will be overcome soon.

solar_powered_carsolar_powered_carsolar_powered_carBut I think that the next big thing in cars will be something that is also a big thing in housing: solar energy. I think solar energy would solve the problem of the need to constantly recharge the electric cars. If cars had solar cells, they would constantly be recharging themselves and we wouldn’t be worrying about recharging stations. The energy would be stored in the solar cells in the cars themselves. The solar cells would most likely be mounted in the roofs of the cars or on the hoods of the cars. The cars would run on the electric energy generated by the solar power. It would be clean energy with no pollutants, no greenhouse gases. This would be wonderful for our environment. Cars would probably be lighter in weight as well. These cars would be better for our roadways. A solar-powered car would be a good thing all-around.

That is what I think is the next big thing in technology. This technology could also be applied to buses and even to trains. Solar power is the thing of the future. The only limitation it has is that perhaps some areas of the country do not get very much sun. But for those areas that do, this is a viable option. Even in the not-so-sunny areas, the sun’s rays still reach through the clouds and could be harnessed.

Solar-power, especially for automobiles, is the next big thing.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Next Big Thing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–The Next Big Thing

  1. The Hook says:

    Very futuristic-looking vehicle!
    Then again, that’s the point, isn’t it?

  2. Patrecia Uptonii says:

    What a great idea..why has nobody thought of that..air pollution would be a thting of the past

  3. MissFourEyes says:

    A great idea! I hope it really works out

Leave a Reply

