Daily Prompt–Switcheroo


If you could switch blogs with any blogger for a week, with whom would you switch and why?

I really admire one particular blogger and his blog and would dearly love to switch places with him for a day, or a week, as this prompt suggests. That would be The Hook, of You’ve Been Hooked fame. I love his blog about the perils and adventures of the life of a bellman in a Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada hotel.

The drawback to this switch would be that, in order to write his blog, I would have to act as a bellman in this hotel for a week. And quite frankly, I don’t think I’m up to the job. It’s not an easy job. There is the physicality of the job. And then there is putting up with the folks who come into the hotel. And they are a motley crew.

And, in addition, to these constraints, I would somehow have to be graced with the amazing sense of humor that The Hook has. And I don’t naturally possess that. So that sense of humor would have to be magically transmitted to me in the switch or the blog would be a total flop and The Hook would have a lot of clean-up to do when he got back.

The Hook, of course, would get the short end of the stick, as it were, by having to do my blog. I usually write to the Daily Prompts that Word Press puts out. He would address these with his wonderful sense of humor, no doubt, but I know they would stifle him a bit. And it might be difficult to work in the Kardashians and Lindsey Lohan into the Daily Prompts.

So I would feel honored to switch blogs with The Hook, but I know I wouldn’t do half the job that he does. And he would be pained to do my blog. Sorry, Hook. You got the rotten part of this bargain. I hope I didn’t screw up your blog too much in the time I spent there!

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Switcheroo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily Prompt–Switcheroo

  1. When I saw the prompt I immediately thought of the Hook, too! (But how he keeps rolling with all the human circus…I’d end up cranky and totally exhausted – emotionally and physically – unable to write)
    You did a great job with this daily. (and he says if you mention the Kardashians or Lindsey Lohan
    you get more hits – learning from the master!)

  2. I love your answer to this. It’s bizarre to imagine someone else, anyone else, taking over The Hook’s blog no matter how briefly. Much as I’d love the honor, I’d also be reluctant to take on the folks who serve as the blog’s inspiration!

  3. The Hook says:

    Reblogged this on You've Been Hooked! and commented:
    I may not a have a legion of fans, but you know what? The devotion of the young lady whose work I am featuring today accounts for at least a million fans! My life has been experiencing a bit of turbulence lately – to say the least – but a good turn from a friend can turn your day around instantly.
    Enjoy your Monday, folks.
    New words from yours truly soon….

  4. The Hook says:

    I have to agree with Deborah; not everyone is cut out for my life, but I think you’d do all right…
    Thanks again for honoring me young lady. You’re the best friend a bellman/blogger could ask for!

  5. Whoo Hoo – what an awesome post.

  6. Jennifer says:

    This was as if I wrote it. Hook was the first person I thought of to swap places with, but somehow I’m not sure how he would deal with certain parts of my life. Great post 🙂

  7. List of X says:

    I agree with you – going to Niagara Falls, mocking the guest, getting the tips, and be out in a week – I’d make the same choice.

  8. Yay! Wonderful reasoning and you do have one advantage. Think of how much guys dislike taking the time to sit down and pee.
    That alone gives you the edge on a trade 😉

  9. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Yay, the Hook rocks, good choice 🙂

    Yeah, I’m not sure I could deal so diplomatically with what he has to if I swapped. Some of those customers are pretty out there!!

    Thanks for sharing, all the best 🙂

    Rohan.

  10. The Cutter says:

    I wouldn’t want to ever switch with The Hook. Without his endless supply of amusing bellman stories, I think his readers might get really bored with what I had to say. On the other hand, my readers might love the change of pace!

  11. I agree with the Legion of The Hook Fans. I’d swap places with him for a week. I don’t think it would work out though. I am from Texas and my drawl is not conducive to producing a good Canadian accent. 🙂 Eh?

  12. I love the Hook’s blog but would be scared to do his job – I’d muddle everything up and have a crowd of hookers, mid-western tourists and rednecks screeching at me all at once!

Leave a Reply

