Wednesday Hodgepodge–24 Hours On


Thanks to Joyce for a brilliant set of questions for this week’s Hodgepodge.

1. What question do you often ask yourself?

I often ask myself why I did something that I did or conversely, why didn’t I do something I should have done. I am constantly second-guessing myself. I seem to always make what I consider to be rather stupid decisions and then have to do damage control. Sometimes I have been lucky to have a friend catch the thing I have done and say, “What were you thinking?!” and I could undo the damage and ask myself, “Indeed! What was I thinking?!” Or I think, “I should have done this” or “I should have said that.”

2. Do you grow roses?  What’s your favourite colour of rose?  Ever been given a dozen roses?  Where was the prettiest rose or rose garden you remember seeing? 

I don’t grow roses. I have no outside garden space. But my grandmother Rose grew roses all along one side of her garden. They were magnificent! My favorite color of rose is yellow. I have been given a dozen roses, several times. I have treasured those moments. The prettiest rose garden I have ever seen was my grandmother’s rose garden. She had a large variety of beautiful roses and tended them every day. As I said, this garden was spectacular.

3. Do you read the freshness dates on grocery store products?  Will you use eggs past their ‘use by’ date? Take medication that’s expired?  Buy a dented can? 

Yes, I do read freshness dates on grocery products, especially bakery products. I buy the freshest ones I can find. I don’t use eggs past their “use by” date. I’m too afraid of salmonella. I also don’t take medicine that’s expired. I don’t keep it around. And I don’t buy dented cans, either.

4.  Should athletes be role models?

I think we want athletes to be role models. Our children all want to be athletes; they naturally want to be like athletes so we want the athletes to be role models. But should we force them to be role models? I don’t think so. I think instead we have to teach our children to separate the athlete and the person. They don’t have to like that person in order to be a good athlete. It’s up to us as parents to explain why our children should not act the way the person acts. They don’t have to be role models.

5.  Edmund Hillary of New Zealand and Tenzing Norgay of Nepal became the first explorers to reach the top of Mt. Everest on this date (May 29th) back in 1953.  What’s something you hope to achieve in your lifetime?

I just want to be a good Court-Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) for children.

6.  What would you do if you had twenty acres of land and the money to develop it any way you choose?

I’d love to have a house with a large library and a study and a big garden with pathways to walk my dogs. Part of it would remain wild, as a buffer to development. There would be trails where I could walk the dogs and the assurance that there would be no wild creatures that could harm them, such as coyotes or mountain lions or rattle snakes.

7. If I invite you to a party with a 7 PM start time, what time will I actually see you there?

If the party had a 7 PM start time, you would probably see me at about 7:10 PM. If it were a regular party, that is. If it were an invitation to dinner at 7 PM, however, you would see me at about 6:50 PM because I would assume that you meant dinner to start at 7 PM.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

We had terrible flooding here last weekend. On Saturday, we received about 10 inches of rain in less than 12 hours. At one point, the rain was coming down at 4 inches an hour! A storm system stalled out over the city and just sat on top of the city and dumped buckets of rain on the city. However, since the rain started in the middle of the night, early Saturday morning, most people just stayed home and did not venture out. So there were fewer high water rescues from cars and fewer people died than usually do in flooding of this magnitude. That’s something to be grateful for. This morning one of the television stations is holding a telethon to raise money for the Red Cross for the Oklahoma tornado tragedy and for our own flooding victims. We had many people who were displaced by the floods, who lost everything when the waters swept through, and the Red Cross was there to help. Our Red Cross unit also went to More, OK to help with the recovery efforts there. So this telethon is to help replace their depleted coffers.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge–24 Hours On

  1. Maire: I’m so sorry to hear about the flooding in your area. Are you in Oklahoma? This weather is really wonky. I have my theories as to what’s going on, but I’ll keep them to myself. You’re welcome. In the meantime, stay safe and dry.

    Oh, and if you want to become a Child Safety Advocate, you will do it.

    • mairedubhtx says:

      I’m in San Antonio, TX. The rain was terrible.
      I am a CASA peer coordinator. I just pray that I do a good job as an advocate and as a coordinator to the advocates I supervise.

  2. The Hook says:

    1. “Why me?”
    2. No.
    3. We’re pretty good with freshness. To a point.
    4. For the most part, no.
    5. I just want to be happy and loved.
    6. I’d build an animal sanctuary.
    7. 7 PM. I’m nothing if not punctual.
    8. I haven’t the time for random thoughts these days – unfortunately!

    Great questions, young lady!

Leave a Reply

