Daily Prompt–The Zone


Tell us about your favorite way to get lost in a simple activity — running, chopping vegetables, folding laundry, whatever. What’s it like when you’re in “the zone”?

Whenever I have something to do, such as doing the dishes, making the bed, walking, any kind of chore, I like to “get in the zone.” Don’t we all? We like to find some way to distract ourselves in the simple activity. I have a strange way to distract myself in these simple activities. I think about the books I am reading.

books-stackI read several books at a time. Actually, I read more than several books at a time. But I will only think about five or six. I will think about five or six of the books that I have been reading and go over the plots of those books in my mind. I review the plots and the characters of those books. I think about each character and how he or she relates to the other characters in the book. I try to anticipate what he or she is going to do in the next chapters. Sometimes I’m right. Sometimes I’m way off base.

If I’m rereading a book, I try to remember the plot of the book and the actions of the characters. I often find this difficult to do. I remember the plot and the actions of the characters become familiar to me as I read along, but I find that I cannot usually predict what is going to happen. Only rarely do I remember enough to predict what is going to happen.

That’s how I “get in the zone.” I replay my books in my mind. I can only do this with about five or six books. I choose the five or six that I like the best at any given time, usually mysteries, and go over these books. I try to solve the mysteries. I sort through the clues. I question the suspects. But I usually am not able to figure out who committed the crime. The authors are too clever for me. Sometimes I do find the murderer but I don’t quite get the motive. That’s more difficult. And I will mull that over.

But this is my “zone.” Some people use music. Some use meditation. Some use other things. I use books. That’s my way. That’s my zone.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Zone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–The Zone

  1. The Hook says:

    Yours is a great zone, young lady!

Leave a Reply

