Daily Prompt–Tourist Trap


What’s your dream tourist destination — either a place you’ve been and loved, or a place you’d love to visit? What about it speaks to you?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us VACATION.

One of my favorite places in the world is Barcelona, Spain. I have visited there and would love to go back there again and visit for a longer period of time.

barcelona-spainThere is so much to see and do in Barcelona. Barcelona is the capital of Catalonia and is the second largest city in Spain with 1.6 million people. It is the largest seaport on the Mediterranean Ocean.

The Barcelona Beach is actually seven beaches that were constructed for the 1992 Olympics Games. The beach is ranked number one of the top ten city beaches in the world.  Barcelona boasts a world-class soccer club and many fine arts venues. It has a beautiful Gothic Quarter. The La Rambla shopping area is lovely and one can see the living statues in this area. Barcelona also has a famous zoo.

Sagrada_Familia_01

La Sagrada Familia

The symbol of Barcelona is Antoni Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia, a massive church that was first begun in 1882 with private donations. Gaudi himself supervised the first work and left the plans for the continued building. The work continues with private donations and the massive church in the middle of the city is expected to be completed in 2026. The Mies van der Rohe’s Barcelona Pavilion in its 1986 reconstruction is also here.

Casa Mila

Detail of Casa Milà

Barcelona is also home to many World Heritage Sites, many of them the works of Gaudi. They are: Parc Güell, Palau Güell, Casa Milà, Casa Vincens, Façade of the Nativity and the crypt of the Sagrada Familia, Casa Batiló, Palau de la Música Catalana, Hospital de Sant Pau, and the crypt in Colonia Güell. The Barcelona Cathedral, a beautiful Gothic cathedral where King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella received Christopher Columbus back from America, is also not be to missed.

Inside La Sagrada Familia

I particularly love the apartments and homes and gardens that feature the architecture and mosaics of Antoni Gaudi. I think the Sagrada Familia is his masterpiece. I last saw it in person in 2001 and have seen pictures of it since and would dearly love to see the work that has been done on it now. Much interior work has been finished on it now that was not even begun in 2001 and it is truly lovely with the stained glass. Gaudi’s architecture on his apartment buildings makes these buildings living structures. I absolutely love these buildings.

I love so much about Barcelona. It’s difficult to put into words how wonderful this city is. I would love to go back there again one day.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Tourist Trap and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt–Tourist Trap

  1. MissFourEyes says:

    The first picture is so beautiful. The colors, the scene, wow

  2. I’ve always heard so many great things about Spain. These pictures are stunning. I love all the color!

  3. The Hook says:

    I’ve great things about Spain too. Great pics. I’m jealous of your experiences!

  4. Ayesha says:

    How very vibrant! Thankyou so much for such a lovely post Nana! ❤

Leave a Reply

