Daily Prompt–Take Care


When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us HELP.

I don’t often get sick. Knock wood. The most time I am sick is when I get a migraine headache, usually. Every now and then I will get a virus or sometimes I get a cold but that’s relatively rare. I usually get a flu shot and have managed to avoid getting the flu for many years. So I am relatively healthy. But as I said, I do get migraine headache. That’s my worst medical problem that I’ve had recently.

out-sickWhen I’m sick, I am not a very happy sick person. I don’t like to have people around me hovering. I want people to leave me alone. I just want to be sick in peace. Especially with a migraine, I want to be in a dark room with an ice pack on my head. I take my imitrex and vicodin and go to bed. My puppies lie with me on the bed and we just stay in bed for the duration. I do take them out and sometimes I wish I had someone to take them out, but that would mean having someone around and I’d just rather do it myself. I don’t have much of an appetite when I have a migraine. The smell of food makes me nauseous. So I don’t really need to eat until I’m feeling better. I’ll eat a fruit ice bar or a cup of yogurt, something cold. That’s it. I’ll have something cold to drink. Then I’m back to sleeping the migraine off. I don’t answer the phone or the door. I don’t want to see or hear from anyone. I will text my daughter to let her know that I am having a migraine and not to worry and I’ll let her know when I’m better. She has migraines, too. She knows how it is.

When I have a cold or the flu, I also don’t want to see anyone. I would rather just be sick in peace. The only time I want to see someone is if I need food. Sometimes, I’ll ask my daughter to pick up something at the market for me if I’m sick or she’ll bring me something that they are having for dinner if I’m too sick to cook. That’s the only time I want to see anyone. I might need medicine, too. Usually I can get myself out to the pharmacy or the grocery store. But there have been times when I just have had a high fever and couldn’t get out and my daughter has brought me dinner. I really appreciated it. I’m glad she doesn’t come over and hover. I’m just not good with people who hover.

I’m just better at being sick when people leave me on my own unless I ask for help. I know when I need help and when I ask for help, my daughter knows I really need it because I so rarely ask for it. If I ask for her to bring me food, it’s because I really can’t fix anything for myself or I don’t have anything in the house. I’m glad to have my daughter around to help if I need her and I never take advantage of her when I don’t absolutely have to. I hope I stay healthy for a good long time.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Take Care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

