Daily Prompt–Person Of The Year


You’re asked to nominate someone for TIME’s Person of the Year. Who would it be, and why?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us BIG.

I would like to nominate a young San Antonio boy for person of the year. I realize this is a little odd but bear with me and let me explain. The person I want to nominate is eleven-year-old Sebastien de la Cruz of San Antonio, Texas. He is a mariachi singer who appeared on America’s Got Talent and was one of the top ten finalists.

SEBASTIEN-DE-LA-CRUZ-NATIONAL-ANTHEM-facebookOn Tuesday night, young Sebastien was the last-minute singer of the national anthem at the Game 3 of the NBA Finals between the San Antonio Spurs and the Miami Heat. The singer who was scheduled to perform could not make it and at the last minute, Sebastien was asked to perform. He was dressed in his mariachi costume and performed a beautiful a cappella rendition of the national anthem. All of San Antonio was extremely proud of him.

However, Twitter was lit up with horribly vicious racist remarks about Sebastien’s performance. One remark asked how we could have a Mexican sing the American national anthem. Another said, “9 to 10, this kid is illegal.” There were similar racist comments on Twitter.

On the next morning’s television news shows in San Antonio, Sebastien appeared and addressed this Twitter comments with poise beyond his years. He had heard and seen the comments and wanted to respond to them. He said that people had a right to their opinion, but he wanted to set the record straight. He was born and raised in San Antonio. He is Mexican-American, but he is American and loves the United States. He was proud to be chosen to sing the national anthem. He will be competing in a national mariachi competition in New York City next month and his dream is to sing at the Super Bowl and in the World Series.

I am extremely proud of this young man and all he has accomplished in his short life. He handled his distractors with the poise of someone far beyond his years. For these reasons, I nominate Sebastien de la Cruz for Person of the Year.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Person Of The Year and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Prompt–Person Of The Year

  1. The Hook says:

    I remember the young man in question. Good choice.

  2. Judith says:

    A very good choice. I second it.

  3. Good for him and good on you!

  4. I saw that, too. So much dignity from one so young. All those spewing hatred should be ashamed!

  5. Well done! Applause!
    Irritating how some people will talk about stuff they know nothing about. Jumping to conclusions, Over generalizations – and Ignorance.
    It’s so common to see children and adults dressed like this – turns few heads, it’s so normal.
    Mariachi music is taught in schools – groups go to contests – it’s hard work
    The kid did great. He was determined to do his best and was being respectful.
    Ugly people – talking about a kid who is quite accomplished – and making comments about an area/things they no nothing about.
    Great Job, Mairedubhtx!

    • mairedubhtx says:

      We in San Antonio are so proud of him. He is such an amazing young man, to weather this criticism so graciously and maturely. No child should have to face this but he is doing so unbelievably well. He really should be Person of the Year.

Leave a Reply

