Daily Prompt–Sing’ In The Rain


Safe inside, toasty warm, while water pitter-patters on the roof… describe your perfect, rainy afternoon.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us RAIN.

How appropriate for the weather we have been having here in San Antonio, Texas for the past two weeks or so! We are in a very strange weather pattern for San Antonio and all of south Texas. We have hot and sunny days, but then the afternoons tend to cloud over with storms coming in over the mountains of Mexico and up from the Gulf coastal plains and we have thunderstorms around 5 pm to about 10 pm every evening.

rainSometimes they come even earlier and we have a rainy afternoon such as we’ve had several times this week. Today is supposed to be one of those days. A nice rainy afternoon. I hope not as rainy as our western region had the day before yesterday when they received 4 inches an hour and 8 inches total and had massive flooding in the border towns. Shade of our 10 inches rainfall several weeks ago! That was a bit much.

No, a nice gentle rain would be nice. However, we usually have thunderstorms, not nice gentle rains. But a rainy day nonetheless would be conducive to my favorite pursuit–reading. I would hunker down with my Kindle Fire™ with its paperwhite screen and read my selection of books that I’ve chosen. I have a number that I’m currently reading. Yesterday I was engrossed in a Lady Julia Grey novel that I had read previously that I am rereading and I did not want to put down. I stayed with it most of the day instead of moving on to other books. I made great headway into the novel. Great for an overcast day.

Today I have to take the car in for service before the rains come, but then I shall plop down on the futon with my books and wait for the rain. The rain and I are good friends. My daughter is highly annoyed about the rain. She wants nothing more than to lay in the sun by her pool and the rain is making that impossible. She should just give in and read a good book like me while this weather pattern holds. That’s what I will be doing, snacking on dried apricots, and living in the 1887’s with Lady Julia Grey and Nicholas Brisbane at Bellmont Abbey solving the latest murder.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Sing' In The Rain and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

