Daily Prompt–Shape Up Or Ship Out


Write a letter to the personality trait you like least, convincing it to shape up or ship out. Be as threatening, theatrical, or thoroughly charming as is necessary to get the job done.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us UGLY.

The personality trait I would like to talk about is my inability to get enough exercise. The title of the post got me to thinking about how little exercise I get. And I’d like to tell myself to start getting more exercise. Shape up, Maire, or ship out.

yogaI do get a little exercise. I walk my dogs every morning for about a half an hour. They enjoy their walk. They each get about 15 minutes a piece. That gives them time to do what they have to do and I get to walk around the townhome complex. But that’s really the only exercise I get. I used to go to Tai Chi classes but for some reason (I don’t remember why), I stopped going. I was going to sign up for yoga class this spring and summer and never got around to it. Maybe I will make it a priority to sign up for the fall yoga classes. I really should. I’m not getting any younger. I do need to exercise. I’m lucky that I’m mobile.

I like to walk. My morning walk with the dogs is pleasant. I really hate the heat, though. I wish I could swim. I’d use the pool at my apartment complex, although it’s not big. I could splash in it. That would be exercise. But it’s still hot out there.

I guess I will will really made an effort to go to yoga class when the fall schedule comes out. It might conflict sometimes with my tutoring and with court dates for CASA, but I can work around those. I have to do something for exercise, I know. I have to stop being so sedentary. I sit at the computer and I read and I drive for most of the day. That’s bad for my bones. And bad for my depression. I know that. I need the exercise. So I resolve. To sign up for fall yoga classes. Shape up or ship out.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Shape Up Or Ship Out and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Shape Up Or Ship Out

  1. The Hook says:

    Good luck, old friend!

Leave a Reply

