Daily Prompt–Might As Well Jump


What’s the biggest risk you’d like to take — but haven’t been able to? What would have to happen to make you comfortable taking it?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us JUMP.

There is a big risk that I’d like to take, but I need another person to take that risk with me. I can’t take it alone. That is to fall in love and get married again. Well, maybe not get married again, but to fall in love anyway.

falling-in-loveI have been married twice and have had several affairs in between my marriages. Needless to say, all these marriages and affairs have not been the “never-ending” love affair that I am looking for. My first marriage was to my college sweetheart. We married right out of college. Our daughter was born four years into our marriage and we divorced two years after she was born. Then I had a two year affair with a very nice man I met through friends but he didn’t want to be tied down with children and I of course had my daughter so we parted. Then I started an affair with a musician who was 10 years my junior. That was a colossal mistake. It lasted 3 years. We broke up when I couldn’t stand his immaturity any longer. Then I focused on raising my daughter for the next few years. Finally I married my second husband and moved to Texas. It was not a happy marriage but I was determined to stick it out. for some unknown reason. The marriage lasted 9 years and then he ended it. It was devastating to me, even though I know it was for the best.

So my track record is not good. But I would like to find someone that I could have a relationship with and find common ground with. I would like to find love at this stage in my life and have someone to share my life with. It would be nice to have a marriage, too. This is the risk I would like to take now.

Any takers?

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Might As Well Jump and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Might As Well Jump

  1. You are a romantic at heart 🙂

Leave a Reply

