Daily Prompt–Morality Play


Where do your morals come from — your family? Your faith? Your philosophical worldview? How do you deal with those who don’t share them, or derive them from a different source?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us THE SOURCE.

Morals–we all have them. But where do they come from? Mine come from several sources. They come from my family, first. Then from my faith. Then from philosophy and ethics that I learned in university.

moralityMy family was my first source of my morality. They taught me right from wrong. What was the right thing to do and what was the wrong thing. How to treat people in general. Not to lie, not to steal. Not to hurt people. To be honest and to be fair. To be kind to others. These were the basic rules of life that my parents taught me in my home.

My faith has also played an important role in shaped my values and my sense of morality. I grew up believing in the Ten Commandments. Those are the basic beliefs of the Jewish faith and Christian church. They are good guidelines to follow for morality. But they are the basic guidelines. My church also fostered a belief in helping the less fortunate, the poor. That has always been with me all my life. I have taken that with me into my adult life and sponsored children through relief agencies. I feel it is my duty to do this. It is my moral obligation to help others with my wealth. My faith has instill that in me. I am now a Muslim. My religion tells me to help orphans and widows. I strive to do that. I contribute to benevolent associations. It is important to me.

Courses in philosophy and ethics at university also influenced my morality. They made me think about the consequences of my actions and the consequences of beliefs. They made me think about the world and evaluate it. I still do that with situations that arise in the world and it’s how I support a situation in the world or not. I take into consideration the background and apply the principles I learned in philosophy and ethics classes. These inform my sense of morality and what I believe today.

When I am confronted with people who do not believe as I believe, I tell myself that they have a different value set than mine. I have studied sociology at university and recognize that people have different sets of values and mores depending on their cultures and upbringing. I can accept that. I can be objective. I don’t necessarily like that their values and morality are not the same as mine, but I can accept it. They have a right to believe something different from me. Their background and family and faith may be completely different from mine. Their life experiences may be totally foreign to me. So they have a right to their own morality. But when our morality conflicts with the laws of the land, we end up in trouble. So there is an absolute authority that we answer to.

That’s how I see morality. Morality is important to me. Values are important to me. Family and faith are important to me. They inform my life. I hope that I do them proud.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Morality Play and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Morality Play

  1. The Hook says:

    You’re good people, old friend.

Leave a Reply

