Daily Prompt–21st Century Citizen


Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MODERN.

Sometimes I think I am comfortable belonging to this day and age and sometimes I don’t think I belong.

21st-centuryI do like living in the 21st century. I like being able to live my life as an independent woman who lives alone, who drives a car and does as she pleases. I like using technology such as the computer and my iPhone. I like blogging and answering email and shopping online. I like modern conveniences. I like living in the modern world. But I’m not as tech-savvy as I’d like to be. The computer is really a puzzle to me. If it doesn’t work, I’m lost. If something about it isn’t in plain English, I can’t figure it out. I want everything to be very simple, however.

victorian eraIf I couldn’t live in this modern world, I would want to live in the late Victorian period, about the 1880s. I enjoy novels from that period. I find them fascinating. I think I would like to go back to that period, to England of that time period. I like the clothing of that time. I’d like to travel during that time to places like Italy and France, maybe Greece. I’d live in a London townhouse and have servants and take tea in the late afternoon. I’d spend my time reading and doing needlework, which I do now anyway. There would be no television, which would be all right with me. I’d go to concerts in halls and in people’s homes. I’d go to the opera and the ballet. I’d go to the theater. I’d walk in parks. It would be a different sort of life.

So I could live in the modern world or perhaps in the late Victorian world. Either one would be fine with me. My grandmother was a child during the late Victorian era. She lived on a farm during that time. I don’t know if I would have liked living on a farm. I’m more of a town-house girl. I live in one now, though not a big one. I’m a city girl. If I could live in a city, modern or Victorian, in comfort, then I’d be happy.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in 21st Century Citizen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

