Daily Prompt–Trains, Planes, And Automobiles


You’re going on a cross-country trip. Airplane, train, bus, or car? (Or something else entirely — bike? Hot air balloon?)

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRAVEL.

I’m going on a cross-country trip? Which mode of transportation do I choose? It all depends on how fast I want to get across the country and if I plan to sight-see along the way.

airplaneIf I have to get from point A to point B, then of course I will fly. Planes are not the glamours way to travel but they get you from point A to point B in a record amount of time. When my daughter lived in Oceanside, CA and I was visiting from San Antonio, TX, the plane was the way to go. When I need to go back to visit relatives in Utica, NY, the plane is the best way to travel. Even then, it takes 9 or 10 hours to get from San Antonio to Utica. It isn’t an easy trip, but the plane is the fastest way to travel when you don’t have much time to travel.

hyndai elentraHowever, if I want to see a bit of the country, driving is a way to go. I don’t mind driving as long as my car is in good shape. It is a good way to see the beautiful country that is the United States. When my daughter was moving to Oceanside, CA and I was going to leave my car out there for her, we drove from San Antonio. It was an interesting drive through the desert Southwest. I really enjoyed it. We broke up the drive into several days and got to see parts of the country that I had never seen before.

When I moved from New York State to Texas, we drove a rental truck down through Ohio to Kentucky through Tennessee to Arkansas and then to Texas. I saw parts of the country that I had never been in before. It was a long trip but I’m glad I saw these parts of the country. As long as you have the time to do it, driving across the country is a good way to travel.

amtrakI’d also like to take a train trip. I’ve traveled by train from New York to Baltimore and that was nice. I’d like to take a longer train trip across the country. I think it would be a nice adventure to travel by train and a sleeper car. I’d like to travel through the Rockies on a train and up through the Pacific Northwest as well.

So there is not just one way I would like to travel. I would like to travel in a variety of ways, depending on my mood and what I wanted to see. Does this make me fickle? I think not. It makes me flexible.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in And Automobiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

