Daily Prompt–We Can Be Taught!


Tell us a moment or an incident that you treasure  — not necessarily because it brought you happiness, but because it taught you something about yourself.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us LEARNING.

This isn’t exactly an incident that I treasure. It was a very traumatic incident, but it did teach me something about myself.

bankruptcy_petitionIn January 2003, I had to file for personal bankruptcy. I did not want to do this, but I had so much credit card debt that I had to file. I had tried to find a way to avoid doing this but there was no way I could avoid it. I found a lawyer who could represent my interests and filed for personal bankruptcy. There were many forms to fill out. I filed for Chapter 11, which meant that I would be paying off most of my debt. I felt this was only right. I had accumulated it and I felt that I should pay it back. So for three years, I had payments to make.

This experience taught me that I could live on a budget and pay cash for things. It taught me that I could do the right thing by paying off my debt instead of taking the easy way out and filing Chapter 7. It taught me that I could survive this very traumatic incident in my life and come out on top.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in We Can Be Taught! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–We Can Be Taught!

  1. Learning from our mistakes makes us better people. Well done you.

  2. The Hook says:

    At least you came out on top, beautiful.

Leave a Reply

