Daily Prompt–No Longer A Mere Mortal


You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us LONGEVITY.

So now I’ve drunk a special potion that will make me live forever. Gad Zooks! What a horrible thought! I’m assuming that I will never get older than I am now. I’d like to be a bit younger, actually but you can’t go backwards, can you? I guess I’ll have to settle for being me as I am now for eternity.

ankhNow what do I do? How do I live my life? Well, the good news is that I have eternity to spend working with my CASA kids and my Advocates. I am a Peer Coordinator for Advocates for Court-Appointed Special Advocates for children in the Family Court System and I also work with my own children. I will be able to spend eternity working with these children and my Advocates. This is my passion.

I will also be able to work with elementary school students as I tutor them in reading at their schools. I go once a week to work with a specific child at the neighborhood elementary school. We read books together and play word games and sentence games. We write a few sentences about the story we have read. By the end of the year, the child is reading better than when we started the school year and is enjoying reading. I work hard to find books that the child will enjoy reading. One year I had a student who liked hyenas. We read every sort of book about hyenas. Fiction, nonfiction, poetry. I learned more than I ever wanted to know about hyenas. But he was happy.

In my personal life, I would take more responsibility with my personal finances. I am on a fixed income and I must life frugally. I would make sure I live within my means and not spend frivolously. I would plan for major expenditure like car repairs. I would also make more of an effort to fix up my town home, which need to be cleaned up some. Since I’m going to be in it for a good long time, I might as well make it comfy.

I’m not too thrilled about this living forever thing. But this is what I’d do if I was put in that position. I would make sure that I took advantage of the situation and did as much good as I could. That is the best thing I could think of to do.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in No Mere Mortal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–No Longer A Mere Mortal

  1. Teach someone to read (and to love it) and you open the world ( and you live forever as part of them as they travel through the worlds you opened)

  2. List of X says:

    You know, a lot of these things you mention are worth doing even though (and maybe especially because) we are not going to live forever.
    Though, if you were to live forever, you wouldn’t have to pay money for the health insurance 🙂

Leave a Reply

