Daily Prompt–Mirror, Mirror


Finish this sentence: “When I look in the mirror, I . . . “

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MIRRORED.

I don’t like this prompt. I don’t like looking in the mirror.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA“When I look in the mirror, I see an old woman looking back at me.”

That’s the sentence I finish. That’s why I don’t like looking in the mirror. People tell me I don’t look my age, but I disagree. I think I absolutely look 63 years old.

I see my mother when I look in the mirror. Each day I look more and more like my mother. I have short hair like she did. It’s not curly like hers but that’s because i don’t get a perm. It’s not gray but that’s because it’s colored. But my lips are like hers. My eyes are like hers. My nose is like hers. I am just like my mother.

The only time I look in the mirror is to brush my teeth in the morning and when I take my medicine morning and evening. I avoid it whenever possible. I hate what I see. I do look in a mirror when I put on lipstick to go out. I hate the lines around my lips. They make me look old.

I am old. There’s no getting around it. I have to live with it. Somehow I have to come to terms with it. I can’t go through life not looking in a mirror. I have to realize who I am a deal with it. I’m not 20 years old anymore. I’m 63 years old and don’t look all that bad. I don’t have that many wrinkles. I take good care of my skin. I have aged, but we all do. I need to admit it and move on.

I need to make friends with the person I see in the mirror. She is a friends. She isn’t a bad person. She’s just an older person. She’s a good person. Give her a chance.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Mirror Mirror and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Mirror, Mirror

  1. Heyjude says:

    Oh so true! But is it only women who feel like this? I haven’t read any posts from men yet who say they look in the mirror and see their father. I avoid mirrors too except for those that make you look slimmer 🙂

  2. The problem is the quality of the mirror – a poor one won’t reflect the true image. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. (mirror images are mirages anyway…..I’ll come up with more if I think long enough. Giggle long and loud – that’s all that counts)

Leave a Reply

