Daily Prompt–Rolling Stone


If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRAVEL.

Left to my own devices, I probably would NOT live a nomadic life. I have two Japanese Chin dogs and I love my little town home. I am a home body. I do like to travel but I don’t like to be away for too long.

globeHowever, if I could take my darling animals with me on my travels, I suppose I could live a nomadic life. There are places I would like to see and places I would like to go if I had unlimited funds. I would like to see much of the United States. I have relatives in many places in the United States and I would visit my relatives. They live in places like Boston, Williamsburg, San Francisco, Lynchburg, Utica, Buffalo.

I would also like to see a bit of the world. Ernie, Ralphy, and I would travel to Paris, Venice, Rome, Barcelona, Greece, Switzerland, Luxembourg (where my ancestors are from), Montréal, Australia, Japan, China. There is a lot of world and we would spend time in each area sightseeing.

It would be hard to travel and not have a home base. I would have to keep coming back to San Antonio to visit my daughter and granddaughters. I can’t stay away from them for too long. They are my everything. Even if I didn’t have my town home, I would need to touch home with them. They keep me grounded and happy.

I don’t think I would want to be a nomad, but if I could take my dogs, I would be a nomad for a while. It might be an interesting life for a while.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Rolling Stone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

