Daily Prompt–Barter System


If the world worked on a barter system, how would you fare? Would you have services to barter? Would you be successful, or would you struggle?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SKILL.

If the world worked on a barter system, I’d be a trouble. I don’t really have much in the way of skills that I could trade or barter.

The only service that I could barter would be my tutoring services that I do with elementary school students. I help them learn to read better by reading to them and playing word games and writing sentences about the books we read. I guess I could trade this service with more than one student and help many students who need help with their reading.

I also can edit educational test items. I could barter with teachers to make their classroom tests better by editing their tests. I did this work for 40 years in both the private and public sector.

I really don’t have many other skills. I can babysit children and I can drive people to appointments or to the grocery store. I could barter using those skills.

The barter system would present a struggle for me, I think. I would really have to hustle to get want I need to survive.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Barter System and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Barter System

  1. Oh I think you underestimate yourself. But in any case being able to write well and carefully read and analyze/interpret documents should be very useful. And you are able to organize and keep things on track – not to mention keeping up with kids. Determination is always in demand

  2. The Hook says:

    You have a big heart and plenty of skills. Don’t be so hard on yourself!

Leave a Reply

