Daily Prompt–Fandom


Are you a sports fan? Tell us about fandom. If you’re not, tell us why not.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SPORTS.

Well, this is going to be a rather short post today. There’s not too much to say about this topic.

sports-fansI enjoy sports. I like watching sports, particularly in person at games. I like baseball, basketball, football, hockey. I will watch the “big” games on television some times. I do have my favorite teams. But I am not a rabid fan.

I am a fan of the San Antonio Spurs basketball team because I happen to live in the city of San Antonio. They are my team from my city. So I support them. I was sad that they didn’t win the championship two weeks ago. But I’m not crushed.

As for football, I don’t really have a favorite team. I have a soft spot for the New York Giants because I used to live in New York. My daughter is a Buffalo Bills fan. She is used to being disappointed. I am not a huge Dallas fan or Houston fan despite the fact that I live in Texas.

I am a Yankees fan in baseball. I grew up with the Yankees. I will always be a Yankees fan. I can’t help it. It’s in my nature.

As for hockey, I’ve always been fond of the Montréal Canadiens. They have always been my favorite hockey team. I remember the days of Guy LaFleur. That’s how far back I go. My roots are deep. I also like the Boston Bruins when the Canadiens aren’t winning. I wasn’t happy this year.

But I’m not a rabid fan for any of my teams. I don’t cry or scream or get upset. I watch the games and can take them or leave them. I’m a fan but not a super-fan. I don’t dress up or even wear a fan jersey. Am I a “real” fan? I don’t know. What is a real fan? So there you have it. I don’t know if this is what fandom looks like to you, but it’s my fandom. A quiet fandom, if you will. Sedate and dignified fandom. But fandom, nonetheless.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Fandom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

