Daily Prompt–Dream Home


You win a contest to build your dream home. Draft the plans.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us DREAMS.

My dream home would be built on land that would be surrounded by a lovely lawn and a beautiful garden.

DreamHome2It would be a magnificent place. There would be a main entrance, with a dish of flowers and perhaps a staircase that leads to the upper floors from the foyer.

On the ground floor there would be a kitchen, a dining room, a living room, a relaxation/television room, and a library. The library is very important to me. There would be many bookshelves in this room. There would be floor to ceiling, and the ceilings would be very high, and cover the room. There would also be a fireplace in the room, with chairs by the fireplace where one could curl up to read and a table and lamps where one could study. The living room, or great room, would also have high ceilings and have lots of light.

On the second floor, there would be bedrooms and a study for me. There would also be a plant room for my plants. Not a greenhouse, but a room for my bamboo and my bonsai plants. A little sitting room.

I like traditional architecture.  I suppose I could live with something more modern if push came to shove and I could have all the rooms I wanted in the house. The architect would have to convince me. Living in San Antonio makes the lawn and garden difficult. But I’d be willing to go with a modern design and xeroscaping if I could get all the rooms I wanted. I’m flexible.

There’s my dream house. It could be modern or it could be traditional. But it would have to have all the rooms I want. I just want to be comfortable.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Dream Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Dream Home

  1. A library is also a major part of my dream home. I’ve started collecting the books…now I just need a house to put them in haha

Leave a Reply

