Daily Prompt–A Friend In Need


Finish this sentence: “My closest friend is…”

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FRIENDSHIP.

My closest friend in my daughter.

FriendshipS. is my daughter. She is also my closest friend. I rely on her for everything.

I text her every night to let her know that I am all right. She texts me to tell me about her day and about her daughters.

We see each other often. We live close to each other. We visit frequently. We go to lunch and breakfast often.

We talk to each other about our dreams and our hopes, our fears and our disappointments. We are as close as sisters.

We were all we had while S. was growing up, from the time she was two until she was 17. It was just the two of us. We grew very close. We’ve always been close. Through her first marriage and divorce, we remained close. I helped S. settle in San Antonio and she completed her education here and she became a single working mother here. She bought her home here and then married for the second time. I grew a little apart, but we’ve since become close again.

I’ll never stop loving my precious daughter. She is so important to me. She is my best friend. She is my closest friend. My daughter–my friend.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A Friend In Need and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

