Daily Prompt–Back To School


If you could take a break from your life and go back to school to master a subject, what would it be?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MASTERY.

I love school. I would love to go back to school. If someone would pay for me to go back to school, I’d be there in a heartbeat.

archaeologyI have always been fascinated by archaeology. When I graduated from college with my B.A. in Sociology, I wanted to go to graduate school and major in archaeology. That is what I would like to do now–go back to graduate school and major in archaeology.

I’d like to go to the University of Texas at Austin. They have a very good archaeology department. They focus on Maya ruins in Central America. They have very good professors. I would love to take their courses and participate in their digs. I have a lot to learn. I don’t know which branch of archaeology I would focus on yet. I need to experience the various courses to know which branch I would like best.

So this is the subject that I would like to study. I love to find out about ancient civilizations. Since I was a young girl and first received a book called All About Archaeology, I have been enthralled with archaeology. I have dreamed about participating in digs and finding artifacts of ancient civilizations. I enjoy learning about ancient peoples, how they lived and worked. I would enjoy the science of the dig, how to lay out the grid and excavate the ground. There is an exact science to a dig. It is very precise. It is like a crime scene. Precise measures are taken. Everything is measured and catalogued. Nothing is contaminated. But there is also much to learn in the classroom. I would enjoy learning all these things about archaeology.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Back To School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Back To School

  1. I just got funding to go back to school in September. I have a seasonal job…so I jumped through a million hoops and got Employment insurance to pay for my retraining. I am 48 and starting again!! I am stoked…check into it in your area, maybe you really can be an archaeologist 🙂

Leave a Reply

