Daily Prompt–Pat On The Back


Tell someone you’re proud of just how proud you are. Photographers, artists, poets: show us SUCCESS.

There is one special person whom I would like to tell that I am proud of. (Is that even English?) At any rate, I have someone I am proud of and I would like to tell her that I am proud of her. That would be S., my daughter.

S. was very many years a single working mother who raised two amazing wonderful young daughters. She put herself through community college with no help from anyone and graduated with honors. She found a job as a receptionist in a company. It was not an easy job, but she prospered and did well in this company. She left there and found another job in a cancer research facility as the administrative assistant to the president of the company. She was his right-hand person and did everything for the people in his company.

In the midst of her hectic job, she managed to purchase a house for herself and her children. She painted the inside of the house and decorated it beautifully. It is a show-place. She even landscaped the outside. She is a responsible homeowner. In the meantime, she never missed the important things for her daughters’ school events and her daughters were involved in music lessons and other things. They grew up to be beautiful young women.

S. moved on to other jobs where she did well and is now an executive assistant in a financial company. She has a very responsible position and does very well for herself. She has married for a second time and has a loving husband who is a wonderful father to the girls. S. is also a loving daughter who never hesitates to help me when I need help. She takes me to doctor appointments when I need help and has brought me medicine and food when I have been sick. We often go to lunch and breakfast and see each other often. She is my best friend. We text each other every night.

So the person I am most proud of is S. You can see why I am so proud of her. She is a brilliant young woman. I love her to pieces. She is my hero.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Pat On The Back and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt–Pat On The Back

  1. I’m smiling away because I knew who you’d choose 😀

  2. Coming East says:

    Amazing woman! No wonder you’re so proud her. I’m proud of her, and I don’t even know her!

  3. And someone raised her, encouraged her, and cheers her successes. That’s a person worth a gold star, too

  4. The Hook says:

    S isn’t the only hero around here, young lady…..

Leave a Reply

