Daily Prompt–Smell You Later


Humans have very strong scent memory. Tell us about a smell that transports you.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRANSPORTED.

The smell that transports me is the smell of fried food. It makes me think of my mother’s kitchen and home. My mother was raised in the South and she often fried foods, especially chicken. She also fried pork chops, donuts, apple fritters, meatballs, hamburgers, sausage. So the smell of fried foods takes me back to my mother’s kitchen in our house and the smell of food cooking.

fried-chickenI know fried foods aren’t good for you but I love fried foods. I equate them with love. My mother loved us and she poured out her love for us in her cooking. I remember her fried chicken which we would often eat cold for a picnic lunch. My favorite food which she would make for my birthday was apple fritters, apple rings dipped in batter and then fried. They were delicious! Then sprinkled with cinammon sugar.

The smell of fried foods takes me back to the kitchen of my youth. I remember all those delicious food that my mother prepared for us. When I go to a fair and walk by the food booths that are selling fried foods, I think of my mother and the foods that she made for us. Images of fried chicken and apple fritters dance in my head. And I am transported for a while.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Smell You Later and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Smell You Later

  1. Debbie says:

    The Snell of citrus fruits. I have lived in Florida growing up and the smell of citrus is the best

  2. The Hook says:

    I LOVE fried chicken!

Leave a Reply

