Daily Prompt–Moved To Tears


Describe the last time you were moved to tears by something beautiful.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us BEAUTY.

In October 2001, I went on a cruise of Mediterranean countries. Italy was the primary country we visited. One of the cities we visited was Florence, the home of the Uffizi Gallery.

DavidThe Uffizi Gallery is a magnificent place, filled with art treasures. But the main reason that I was excited to go to the Uffizi Gallery and the reason I was moved to tears in the Uffizi Gallery was the statue of David in the Gallery.

The statue of David was sculpted in marble by Michelangelo and is truly one of the wonders of the world. There are just no words to describe this work of art. David is standing just before he throws his stones at Goliath. His muscles are taunt. His eyes are wary with just a touch of fear. His face is set. The statue is a thing of true beauty. David almost seems alive. I could have stayed all day in the gallery looking at this wonderful piece of art. It really did move me to tears.

The statue of David was the highlight of my trip to Italy. It was the main artwork that I had wanted to see, along with the Sistine Chapel. I’m so glad that I saw it. I will always have that memory with me. I will always remember the time I was moved to tears by the statue of David in the Uffizi Gallery.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Moved To Tears and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Moved To Tears

  1. Honie Briggs says:

    It was the Sistine Chapel that moved me to tears. Unbelievable and uncontrollable. We moved silently through the crowd looking for a spot to stand. The guards were shushing everyone. I found a spot to stand and looked above the sea of heads trying to take in the overwhelming scene in the dimly lit room. My eyes landed on the expulsion from Eden. Emotion filled me to the brim and overflowed down my cheeks. This spontaneous tearfest took me completely by surprise. We saw David in Florence, but the effect was more admiration than awe.

  2. The Hook says:

    All the chicks love David. Why is that?

Leave a Reply

