Daily Prompt–Procrastination


What have you been putting off doing? Why?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TIME.

procrastinationI have been putting off cleaning and de-cluttering my apartment for months now. Really. It is a mess. There is stuff everywhere. My bookshelves are overflowing. Books need to be given to the half-price book store or the library. Papers need to be thrown away. Magazines need to be discarded. Clutter needs to be gone through and thrown out and out away.

Why did I ever let it get this bad? I have no idea. Just lazy, I guess. I would rather read than clean. When I’m not reading, I’m out with my CASA cases or tutoring. I just have not gotten around to cleaning. I hate to clean and de-clutter. I am just not a good housewife. I should have someone come in to do the cleaning, but it is such a wreck right now that I have to do it first and then someone can come in to keep it clean. I have to clean it up first because a person coming in from the outside would have no idea where to start first.

There are dirty dishes in the sink that I haven’t gotten around to washing. Mail has piled up on the dining room table. There are boxes everywhere. My cupboards need to be cleaned out; I can’t put cartons away because there is no room in the cupboards. In a word, it’s a mess.

I hate it. But I live here and I hate to clean, so it stays a mess. I know that one day, I’ll break down and clean it up, but not today. Today, I’ll live with it because it’s what I’m used to. And I’d rather read.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Procrastination and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Procrastination

  1. mjbardell says:

    I have this same problem that I have been trying to deal with. One thing I am trying is to make a chore, i.e., cleaning the sink, fun. It is fun for me to see a clean sink.

Leave a Reply

