Daily Prompt–These Boots Were Made For Walking


Tell us about your favorite pair of shoes, and where they’ve taken you.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us WALK.

shoesI have a pair of flats. They are black with gold and silver metal studs on the tops and heels. I absolutely adore them. They are the most comfortable pair of shoes I own. I wear them with everything I own. And I wear them everywhere.

The main place I wear them is to court when I go to court for my CASA cases. CASA stands for Court-Appointed Special Advocate for children. I am a Peer Coordinator for CASA and supervise three other CASA volunteers and must go to court with them when their cases come before the court. I have to dress up and I always wear my black shoes, which look dressy.

I also wear them when I go to Staffing meetings for CASA at Family and Children Services. These are pre-court meetings to update everyone on the status of the case. They aren’t as dressy as court but I always wear my nice shoes because they are comfortable.

When I go to tutor my child in reading at the elementary school in my neighborhood, I wear my black shoes. I help a second-grader learn to read by reading with him or her once a week at school for an hour. I do this all school year. By the end of the school year, the child is reading better. I do this through a program for senior citizens called OASIS. We are trained as tutors and then work with the schools and our assigned children at the school. I always wear my black shoes because they are nice and they are comfortable.

So you see my shoes have seen a lot of wear and a lot of use. They have served my well in my life. I hope they don’t wear out, but if they do, I have a pair of brown shoes just like them that I will use instead.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in These Boots Were Made For Walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

