Daily Prompt–Name That…You!


Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us IDENTITY.

My given name is Diane. It is the name of a Roman goddess. She was the goddess of the moon and the hunt. My parents named me Diane because my mother saw the name in a movie magazine and she liked it. They were having trouble coming up with an appropriate name for me, the name my father chose had been vetoed by my grandmother and my mother.

DThe name my father chose, Marie. became my middle name. It is the name I like. I like it better than my given name but for some reason I can’t seem to get anyone to call me Marie. I will be forever Diane except to a senior’s group where I am known as Marie. I don’t like my name. I don’t think it suits me at all. But I’m stuck with it.

My daughter’s name is Sabrina Suzanne. Sabrina means princess in the Saxon language. There was a student in my husband’s school named Sabrina and we also had seen the movie “Sabrina” and loved the movie. So our daughter was named Sabrina. Suzanne just seemed to go with her name well. She has always liked her named. Sometimes she is called Brie. But usually she is Sabrina.

So there are our names. I don’t like mine but I love my daughter’s and I’m glad she likes hers. I did something right.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Name That...You! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Name That…You!

  1. You probably did many things right – great name choice for daughter – it sounds elegant as well as lighthearted – shouldn’t trap her into a set image. You definitely seem like a Marie with your writing

  2. The Hook says:

    You’ve done more than one thing right, my friend. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

