Daily Prompt–Blogger With A Cause


If your day to day responsibilities were taken care of and you could throw yourself completely behind a cause, what would it be?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us HELP.

The cause that I am passionate about is the Court-Appointed Special Advocates for children, or CASAs. I belong to CASA as a Peer Coordinator.

CASA-LOGO-2CASAs advocate for foster children, for abused and neglected children who are in the court system. Children who are in the court system because of abuse or neglect are often assigned a CASA to advocate for them with caseworkers and in the court. They visit the child and get to know the child and his or her circumstances. They find out what they child wants and what is best for the child. They may contact the parents and help them if the child is going to be returned to the parents. Even if the child will not be returned to the parents, the CASA may get to know the parents and find out why the child is not going to be going home and concur with that assessment or not.

The CASA’s main focus is on the child. What is the best thing to do for the child. The CASA write reports for the court to explain what is going on with the parents and the child. The judge takes the CASA’s report into consideration when judging the case. The CASA also testifies in the court case.

As a Peer Coordinator, I supervise three or four CASA advocates and their cases. I go with them to their staffing meetings and to court with them. I visit their children if they can’t make a visit. I get to know all about their cases. I advise them about their cases and their court reports.

CASA is the cause that I am most passionate about. If I gave up all my other activities, I would do my CASA activities full time. I believe in this organization so much. The children are so important. They have suffered so much. Someone must speak for them. The CASA does. That’s why CASA is so important. Please think about becoming a CASA advocate.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Blogger With A Cause, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Blogger With A Cause

  1. Such an important activity. Kids need someone looking out for them – especially ones uprooted from their families – who have suffered emotionally/physically. A little shelter from the human storms may make the difference in the type of adult they become. Thanks for seeing and caring.

  2. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    I’ve seen this reblogged ALL OVER THE PLACE. I would help children of abuse and PTSD sufferers.

  3. The Hook says:

    Fantastic work, my friend.
    This isn’t an easy world in which to be an innocent, is it?

Leave a Reply

