Daily Prompt–Toy Story


What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MEMENTO.

My favorite thing as a child was books. But I did have a favorite toy. It was a doll’s house.

dollhouseThe doll house was made by my father and had many rooms. It had two stories and had stairs with the bedrooms and bathroom upstairs and the living room and dining room and kitchen downstairs. I had plastic furniture for the doll house for all the rooms and would play arranging the furniture in all the rooms for hours. I also had little dolls that represented the mother, father, and little boy and little girl who lived in the doll house. I would play with them and play out scenarios for hours with the doll house.

But my favorite thing in my childhood was books. Books of all sorts. Comic books, little Golden books, story books. Any kind of books. I adored books. I was happiest as a small child when someone was reading to me and happiest as an older child when I was reading. My mother subscribed to a book of the month club that sent a book about the lives of the saints and I devoured those books when they arrived. My favorite book was an All About Archaeology book that I received for Christmas when I was 10 years old. I still have this book. It changed my life and gave me a direction for my life. I have been an avid reader all my life.

So I have two favorite things from my childhood. One is a toy and the other is books. I can’t talk about just the one. The other is an important pastime as well. Books aren’t toys but they were an important part of my leisure time as a child. Toys and Books. They went hand in hand.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Toy Story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt–Toy Story

  1. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    Wow I love your doll house!!! I loved barbies I played with them till I was 12! I don’t think I see any link to my toys and my life now but hopefully soon!

  2. Ayesha says:

    That’s very cute, Nana! The best bit is, you have memories associated with it which make you feel good about yourself, what more could be wanted! 🙂

  3. The Hook says:

    My daughter LOVES doll houses! Great share!
    I love your youthful spirit!

  4. This could be me! I had a wonderful doll’s house as a child which I loved; but books were my thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

