Daily Prompt–Naked With Black Socks


Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us PUBLIC.

lectureI have no problem speaking in front of people. This was not always so. I was a shy, quiet person when I got out of college but then I got a job where I had to read examination directions to candidates taking tests. I had to read them over a microphone in front of hundreds of candidates and I realized that they weren’t judging me and I became comfortable with speaking in front of crowds.

Then I had to give presentations of groups of 50 or more teachers in my job. This involved slide presentation and the use of overhead projectors back in the day. So I got used to using media in my presentations. I became more used to giving presentations and speaking in front of groups and answering questions from them.

Now I speak up in small group meetings and regularly testify in court cases for CASA (Court-Appointed Special Advocates for children). I am called on to testify in Family Court about CASA cases where the children have been neglected or abused and I have no problems with doing that. I simply stick to the facts and tell the truth. The lawyers can try to twist my words but I try to make myself clear. I’ve had no real problems.

So speaking in public is not a terror for me.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Naked With Black Socks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Naked With Black Socks

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m pretty comfortable with crowds, but that comes with the territory, I’m afraid.
    Great post, my friend!

Leave a Reply

