Daily Prompt–Can’t Get Enough


Have you ever been addicted to anything, or worried that you were? Have you ever spent too much time and effort on something that was a distraction from your real goals? Tell us about it.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us ADDICTING.

I am worried that I am addicted to reading. There, I’ve said it. I admit it. I really worry that I am.

readI’ve read almost 150 books this year. That’s a lot of books. I spend almost all my free time reading. It’s all I want to do. Lately I’ve spent a lot of time reading new books instead of finishing the old ones I’ve already started. I don’t know why.

I will read rather than do anything else. I may start reading at 10 a.m. in the morning and not stop until 4 p.m. in the afternoon. I read all day. Then I read again in the evening. I also read very fast. I mostly read novels. I like mystery and light romance novels. Nothing heavy, though I also read biographies. I just like to read.

But I don’t get anything else done. I go to appointments like I should, but I don’t get much else done around the house. I get the dogs out and answer my email. I don’t knit and crochet much anymore. I’m too busy reading. Forget the housework. Forget even eating. I’m too busy reading.

So you see I am really addicted to reading. It has become an obsession. It’s not a good thing. There can be worse obsession, I know. But I need to break the cycle and do some more construction things. But until then I’ll read.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Can't Get Enough and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

