Daily Prompt–Home Sweet Home


When you’re away from home, what person, thing, or place do you miss the most?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us HOME.

When I’m away from home, I miss my two dogs the most.

japanese_chin_newJapanese Chin Dog Breed Pictures 01Ernie and Ralphy are my constant companions at home. They are with me night and day. Ernie sleeps with me and he is there when I wake in the morning. When I get up, we go for a walk and then I get Ralphy out of his crate and I take Ralphy for a walk. Then they are set for the day.

After their walk, they get a dog cookie which they love and look forward to. Ralphy then plays with some yarn on the couch and Ernie takes a nap. Then it’s Ralphy’s turn to look for some trouble to get into. I eat my breakfast of a banana and Ernie then munches on the banana peel. He finds the peel yummy. Then they both take naps.

When I go out in the afternoon, Ralphy goes into his crate with another cookie and Ernie gets a cookie, too. But Ernie is well behaved. He takes a nap while I’m out.

When I’m back, we have dinner. Well, I have dinner. They eat when they feel like it from their bowl which is filled with dry food all day and they also have fresh water each morning.

In the evenings, Ralphy curls up at my feet when I watch television and Ernie comes to lay on my legs or on my chest. It’s all very cozy and I sometimes fall asleep this way watching television. Then it’s time for bed. Ralphy goes into his crate with a piece of duck jerky and Ernie gets a cookie and then comes upstairs with me to bed.

So you see why I would miss them terribly when I am away from them. They are my world. They are constantly with me while I am reading and doing things around the apartment. They are always around. My day works around them. When they aren’t around, I’ lost. So I miss them terribly when I’m away. They are my little buddies. And I love them so. So here’s to you. Ernie and Ralphy. Mommy loves you. Home wouldn’t be home without you.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Home Sweet Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily Prompt–Home Sweet Home

  1. karmami says:

    Very sweet and I can see why you miss them while you are away…both are adorable

  2. granny1947 says:

    I want to come back as one of your dogs!!!

  3. I knew you were going to say that 🙂

  4. judithhb says:

    Are they Tibetan Spaniels Marie – they look like my late lamented Lotte.

Leave a Reply

