Book Challenge Update-143


I have finished the 143rd book for the book challenge. It was Troublemaker: A Barnaby and Hooker Graphic Novel by Janet and Alex Evanovich with Joelle Jones.

troublemakerThis book was like reading a big comic book. It is a graphic novel but all that means is that it is illustrated like a comic book. There is text as an aside and there are bubbles for the conversations of the characters.

Barney and Hooker and Felicia get a voodoo doll that tells them that Rosa is being held by a voodoo priest. The voodoo doll blows up. They decide to visit Mama Freda’s Botanica to find out more about who has Rosa.

Mama Freda tells them that Andre Dupont, or Nitro, has Rosa in a swamp. He wants Baron Samedi, a voodoo statue that someone has stolen from a museum, that he wants as his own. Barney and Hooker go to rescue Rosa from the swamp and are nearly caught themselves. But they manage to find her.

They also decide to check out Walter Percy, Rosa’s boss at the cigar factory. They check out his house and his mail box. In his mail box, they find the hand to Baron Samedi.

Nitro follows Barney and Hooker around Miami and there are a couple of car chases. They manage to escape and decide to go to Key West on the Happy Hooker to look for Walter.

They find Walter in Key West but Nitro seizes the Happy Hooker for ransom for Baron Samedi. They all get a motel room and find a bag left for them. It is filled with snakes! Barney gets rid of the snakes. They are determined to return the Baron to the museum in Miami. So they rent a car and strap the Baron to the top and drive back to Miami.

There is a closing scene in the swamp where Rosa has a rocket launcher and they confront Nitro in the swamp. With Mama Freda’s help, they rescue the Happy Hooker and return the Baron to the museum and all is well.

I wasn’t impressed with this medium. It was, as I said, like reading a big comic book. There was a lot of running around in the swamp and pictures of the swamp and Nitro left a chicken in their car and so there were feathers all over. Very visual. But I would rather read the book about the sexual tension between Hooker and Barney and visualize in my own mind the scenes of the chase then have them on the page in front of me.

So for me, this book was not a great success. The story was a bit confusing even with the pictures. I just didn’t like it very much. Sorry.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge Update and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

