Book Challenge Update–159


I have finished the 159th book for the book challenge. It was Murder Imperfect: A Libby Sarjeant Murder Mystery by Lesley Cookman.

MurderImperfectLibby is preparing for the village pantomine and besides being the director, she must also be the fairy.

Harry calls her and asks her to look into the anonymous letters his friend Cy in the next village has been receiving. She agrees but before she can start, Cy is attacked. Cy is gay and they assume that this is a case of gay-bashing. That same night, another gay man, Patrick, is killed.

Libby starts to investigate by looking into the matter of anonymous letters. That leads her to poison pen letters written in the village many years ago by Maud Burton to Amy Taylor who killed herself. Amy had a baby out of wedlock. Maud had written several poison pen letters to people in the village and had even blackmailed people. Then she had disappeared. The police under Ian O’Neil are reopening their cold case files on Maud Burton. They believe Maud was murdered.

Libby also investigates Cy’s background. She learns that Cy was born to Josephine, a fostered child. Her mother was a murderer named Norma Cherry and her father was a farmer named Feltman who had a young son who was sent to Australia and also a daughter. The woman who gave Josephine to the Robinsons to foster her was Maud Burton.

Libby visits Patrick’s aunt Dolly and also his mother to learn more. She learns that Patrick’s mother also received poison pen letters and Libby suspects that Josephine received poison pen letters. Cy’s neighbor Sheila rescued him from the attack and she said that she too received a poison pen letter about her mother years ago.

Libby calls in her psychic friend Fran to help with the investigation. She visits Sheila. Fran says that Sheila is the daughter of Feltman the farmer. Margaret, Patrick’s mother, is the product of rape by Feltman. Amy Taylor’s baby was raised by her mother-in-law and his named was changed to Barkiss. His son tormented Cy and Patrick in school. Then this same Barkiss wrote graffiti on the wall at Cy’s work.

Cy is attack in his home and then his home is ransacked. He and his partner Colin go to stay at Steeple Farm for a while.

Libby continues her investigation. She is convinced that the grandson of the boy who went to Australia is here in England and is attacking gay people. Fran goes to see Sheila and get the impression that Sheila knows much more than she is willing to tell. Sheila orders her out of her house. Then Fran goes back to Libby’s house. Cy calls to say he saw a young man come out of Sheila’s house. Libby tells him to call the police. Then her door bell rings. It is the young man. He attacks Libby and Fran. They fight back and the phone line to Ian is open. The police arrive and take the man into custody. He is the grandson of the man who went to Australia. He killed Patrick and attacked Cy. He also attacked Sheila. Sheila wrote the poison pen letters to Cy and Patrick. She was jealous that their lives had turned out well and she felt her family’s lives did not.

This was an extremely confusing book. There were just too many connections between too many people and I couldn’t quite believe that all these people were related in this way. I just didn’t believe that all of this connected the way it did. It defied belief. Maybe another book I will believe. This was just too convoluted. I enjoyed the book but I gave me a headache.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge Update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

