Overcoming Fears


Have you faced fears and overcome them?

I have a fear of being in groups of people that I don’t know. I moved back to San Antonio after being away for 5 years and it was like coming back to a new city where I knew no one. I am a rather shy person and have a difficult time making friends. So when I joined the senior center and the masjid, I knew no one. It was very difficult for me to go to these places where I knew not a soul and take part in activities. But i somehow managed to do it. I still have difficulties making friends but I have not let that stop me from going on trips with the senior center and going to classes. It has been good for me. I know that eventually I will make friends and have an even been time.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Overcoming Fears and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Overcoming Fears

  1. misswhiplash says:

    It is not easy doing these things when there is just one of you..so by doing what you have it shows that you do have courage. Wobbly knees..maybe…Terrified..maybe..Sick feeling..maybe BUT you were courageous enough to go in and join in with people you did not know.
    So feel proud of yourself..you overcame a great milestone..now build on it.

    My prayers are still with you

Leave a comment