Daily Prompt–Press It


Give some love to three blog posts you’ve read and loved in the past week, and tell us why they’re worth reading.

There are three blog posts that I’ve read this week that stand out for me this week at are worth reading for their poignancy  and sensitivity. These are the three that I think you should read and that I think also should be Freshly Pressed, by the way. Two of them are by the same blogger, Le Clown, about the death of his father. The third is by Tilly, the Laughing Housewife.

These are the posts by Le Clown. Here is the first about his father’s depression and death on Black Box Warnings. Here is the second about the identification of his father by his mother on his blog, A Clown On Fire. Eric addresses both the death of his father and the subsequent identification of his father by his mother and him with directness and sensitivity. Both of these posts will break your heart.

The third is by the Laughing Housewife on the reaction of some of the British public to the death of Margaret Thatcher and the disrespect that has been shown to her. Her post is here. This is a very well done post about the lack of respect of a well known leader who died as a frail old woman and is being disrespected in her death by many in her country. Tilly addresses this beautifully.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Press This and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt–Press It

  1. Le Clown says:

    Mary,
    Thank you for the nod. I am touched. These two posts are very special to me. I am off to read Tilly’s post.
    Le Clown

  2. Thank you for this.

    I will check your friend’s posts.

Leave a comment