Thursday’s Hodgepodge Which Should Have Been on Wednesday


Wednesday HodgepodWelcome to the first Hodgepodge of the Christmas season!  I know it’s not technically December, but Joyce always feel like the Monday following Thanksgiving marks the transition into holiday mode.  Be sure to add your link on her post and then spread some Christmas cheer by visiting the neighbours.

 

Click here to join in with Joyce’s Wednesday Hodgepodge

 

Only four hodgepodges til Christmas, just in case you’re wondering.

1.  With that being said, I think I need to dive right into some Christmas related questions, don’t you?  Which do you prefer-pretty gift wrap with a bow or a pretty gift bag with/without a bow? What percentage of your holiday gifts are currently (as in right this very minute) wrapped in some form or fashion?

None of my gifts are wrapped. One has been delivered to my house. I have finished making two of the four I am making (almost) so they are not ready to be wrapped. I will do the old-fashioned wrapping with paper and bows. I usually use the bags for birthdays.

2. What is one item on your Christmas list this year?

I would love to have the Christmas elves bring me a Kindle Fire but I know that’s not happening. I got a ticket to the Trans Siberian Orchestra for my birthday and that was extravegant.

3. What makes a home?

The people who live in the house who love each other and care about each other.

4. Motown founder Berry Gordy celebrates his birthday today…are you a fan of the Motown sound?  If so who’s your favorite Motown artist and/or song?  Here’s a list in case you’re stuck.

I grew up with Motown in the 60s and the Supremes were my idols. I adored Diana Ross. My friends and I wanted to form a group and be just like them.

5. Red or green…which one is more prevalent in your closet? 

I have lots of red. It ooks good with my dark hair and fair skin.

6. True or false-bacon makes it better?  If you answered true, what’s your favourite dish made with bacon?

It may make it better but being Muslim, I can’t have it. That’s the one thing I miss about being a Muslim–bacon.

7. Share a favorite holiday memory.

When I was a tiny girl, my grandparents had come to the house for Christmas Eve as they always did and we opened their gifts before Christmas Eve Mass. As they were leaving we heard jingle bells and I truly believe I saw Santa Claus outside my house. I know it must have been my imagination or my Uncle Donald but I truly believed it was Santa.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I used to work with a man who made an assortment of cookies for his friends and supervisors for Christmas. I was lucky enough to be among his friends and then his supervisor and got a time of yummy cookies each year. Since I retired, that’s the thing I miss most at Christmas–Charles’ cookies.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday’s Hodgepodge Which Should Have Been on Wednesday

  1. The Hook says:

    Like I always say, better late than never!

Leave a Reply

