Blue Pill, Red Pill, Go Ask Alice


White Rabbit by the Jefferson Airplane

One pill makes you larger
And one pill makes you small
And the ones that mother gives you
Don’t do anything at all
Go ask Alice
When she’s ten feet tall

And if you go chasing rabbits
And you know you’re going to fall
Tell ’em a hookah smoking caterpillar
Has given you the call
Call Alice
When she was just small

When men on the chessboard
Get up and tell you where to go
And you’ve just had some kind of mushroom
And your mind is moving low
Go ask Alice
I think she’ll know

When logic and proportion
Have fallen sloppy dead
And the White Knight is talking backwards
And the Red Queen’s “off with her head!”
Remember what the dormouse said:
“Feed your head
Feed your head
Feed your head”

A blue pill that does nothing, just like the ones that mother gives you, and the red pill which takes you on an adventure such as Alice went on. Mmmmm. Which to choose?

For me, it’s an easy choice. What is the point in taking the blue pill that makes everything more of the same, which is nothing. If you want an adventure, you take the red pill, just like Alice did.

Alice in Wonderland is one of my all-time favorite books. I have even reread it during this past year. Each time I read it, I see more marvelous things that I didn’t see before. Alice made the decision to go on an adventure the moment she step through the rabbit hole. There was no turing back. Shouldn’t we be like that in our lives, too? If we don’t make the move to seek the adventure, we will spend all our lives living the same old life, never going anywhere, never doing anything. We will never see the wonders that Alice say in that world through the rabbit hole.

She would never have seen the Cheshire cat. She would have never met the wise caterpillar. She would never have met the Mad Hatter and the March Hare and the Dormouse. She would never have known about unbirthday parties. She would never have learned how to behave with a queen had she not met the Queen of Hearts (who was quite a character and a little scary). She would never have seen such sights as the pig baby and the sneezing and the pepper. Well, maybe she could have done without that.

If the choice is between a blue pill that leaves life the same as it always has been and a red pill that brings with it new adventures, we are fools if we don’t take a chance and find out what lies beyond the door. Let’s shrink down and open the garden door and find out where the white rabbit is going and what he is going to do. Let’s live a little even though life might be scary sometimes. Let’s take the adventuresome ride.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in blue pill and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Pill, Red Pill, Go Ask Alice

  1. Wonderful metaphor. And I loved the album “Surrealistic Pillow”. I still own it, but now on cd. Great music. Grace Slick is a mind-bender with vocals.

  2. The Hook says:

    Great examination of Alice. Tom Petty would love you! He’s a big Alice fan, too.

Leave a comment